MAIZ Mexican Cantina 36 E Cross St

Reviews

Dana Nold
My son have told me first a couple of years I needed to check this place out. After a long day of helping my girl move in her apartment we were ready to eat. So we decided to GI to Depot town and decide once we gift there. We decided to go for Taco Tuesday. With this corona issue going on they had outside seating. Very cute set up and nice umbrellas to protect you from the hot sun. I was ready to cool off with a Margarita. So glad I ordered the traditional one. One of the best margs I have ever had. We all ordered tacos. I got shredded chicken and street corn. First time having street corn would be sure to go back just to have some more street corn. With the set up and watching the way they cleaned up after people left and no hard copy menus I felt so safe. They had/have a good plan in place. Will be going back sooner than later. My mouth is watering just thinking aboutbgoing back. Thanks for the great serves also.
2020-08-01
5
Ariel Me'ahev
The best Mexican in all of Ypsi/Ann Arbor. I know they're the best because my son has tried them all. He's the family expert on Mexican food. I can say that the food is good!
2020-08-01
5
Joel Vergun
My friend and I found the entrees a little too salty, but the service was great. The menu and bill payment were touchless. Just scan a code with your phone.
2020-08-01
4
Jenny Flanagan
As Texas transplants, we were apprehensive of Mexican food up north - local friends even warned us to lower our expectations and try not to compare to our "more authentic" Mexican food experience. After trying MAIZ for the first time, I can say that disclaimer was not necessary at ALL! This stuff is the real deal. From the menu to the colorful food to the flavors and textures, everything was absolutely amazing - and the salsa totally stole the show. I hope we get a chance to dine in sometime soon. Beyond the delicious food, the prices are awesome, and everything is local and made from scratch. It doesn't get much better than that!
2020-07-01
5
M W.
I loved the fish taco, carnitas taco, and especially the Mexican street corn. Everything was fresh and the toppings were like a flavor explosion. Prices were reasonable, service was fairly good and the outdoor seating was comfortable and shaded. I will definitely be back.
2020-07-01
5
Paul H.
Great Mexican street corn and tacos but margaritas definitely need help. Very busy during taco Tuesday but worth the wait.
2020-06-01
4
Chad Schaffer
Best Mexican food in Southeast Michigan. Laid back atmosphere, amazing staff. Go here.
2020-06-01
5
Andrea LaRue
When dining in, service has always been awesome and food is delicious. Now that we’ve been doing takeout, nothing has changed. Pickup is very organized, they are always wearing protective gear, and the food is perfectly prepared and still taste amazing when you get it home. TIP THEM WELL!
2020-06-01
5
Kristy Reagan
I've been here several times (before the apocalypse) and cannot say enough about how good the food is. I've never once tasted anything that wasn't absolutely delicious. I hope they get enough business to open back up fully. Overall great place to get a bite, so try their carry out!
2020-06-01
5
Ellen Thieleman
I was literally anticipating and looking forward to this meal so so much after reading the reviews and looking over the menu! I've never given a one-star before BUT this deserves it! I ordered the combination enchiladas; spinach mushroom, cheese and onion, and potato zucchini hash. The spinach mushroom had the smallest layer that I don't even think you could call a layer most of my enchilada literally had only ONE spinach leaf and I was eating just a corn tortilla and the mushroom was so tiny you never had a chance to even taste that! The cheese and onion was literally a few little sprinklings of onion no cheese to speak of or taste and again I was just eating a corn tortilla! They were so flat and it was pretty gross to just be eating a corn tortilla completely tasteless the corn just overpowered anything that might have been there :-( the zucchini hash had a good amount but it did not taste good and the green sauce that was supposed to be on it was only on one of them and not enough to go on the top of the rest of it it was so so disappointing, again without the green sauce on top of your just eating a corn tortilla plain it tasted like :-( I also ordered the avocado tacos for my Mom, again I could see how they could be fabulous and amazing but these were tasteless, the sauces they put on top didn't add any flavor I don't know what was wrong with it? The best part of the meal was the beans and the rice that I ordered both of those were very good! The chips are also solid but if you're going to order food your main entree should taste pretty good and not be flat as a pancake with nothing in it!! Definitely not worth $30 if I could ask for my money back I would. Maybe if you are eating in it's a different story but because it's the corona times and we had to pick up it was not good and was a complete rip-off!
2020-05-01
1
Michael Jay
Let me just preface the review with this: Takeout from any restaurant is like going to work tired, it's not you at your 100%...
2020-05-01
5
Patrick Collins
Great Tacos! Have the fried avocado tacos.
2020-05-01
0
Allie Valentino
I’m not understanding the people that left bad reviews from Cinco De Mayo 2020.. we are in a pandemic...on Taco Tuesday... at one is the most popular Mexican restaurants in this area. Considering they had to cut well over half their staff, they did the best they could with all the unfortunate circumstances we are ALL in. Every time I have ever been there, even since the pandemic, the food and service has been incredible. I have nothing but nice things to say about their food and staff.
2020-05-01
5
Tiffany W.
Fantastic food and great customer service! Ordered yesterday for Cinco de mayo without thinking about how popular it would be. I did order it at 4:30 to be picked up at 8:30. I called when I realized there was a giant line outside when I got there at 8:30. When the girl answered she honestly told me they were 2 hours behind on orders and could offer me a refund. I said that would be great, I know what its like to work at a restaurant and so I left and got food elsewhere. At 11 pm I got a call to ask if I still wanted my order. That's 2 hours after closing! That poor restaurant staff was still trying to get peoples orders and I think that was very sweet. I explained that I had cancelled earlier and they could refund me. I think the people that are getting mad about the hiccup yesterday obviously don't realize the struggle it takes to run a take out business in a pandemic with short supplies, short staff and way more traffic than expected. I ordered today instead and they were FUCKING amazing! I think Maiz Cantina's has been doing an amazing job before Covid and definitely now during. Keep being great!
2020-05-01
5
KaraLeigh Ann Stubblefield
The best Margaritas ever we drive from Allen Park for them. Staff is friendly and food is delicious. I love that we can get thee we mix to go during these difficult times. Thank you.
2020-05-01
0